The Hardest Thing is Saying Goodbye: review of Children Who Chase Lost Voices from Deep Below

What a beautiful anime we have here! Makoto Shinkai’s has always been making pretty-looking anime with his characteristically slow pace and rather poignant theme. In this latest entry, Shinkai plunged fully into fantasy genre and the result was…interesting.

Not only the genre change, this time Shinkai dealt with somewhat larger cast of characters and many minor ones along the journey through Agartha. It’s also the first time shinkai dealt with dynamic plot compared to his previous works which were mostly about internal struggles of only one or two characters. ‘Children Who Chase Lost Voices from Deep Below’ (from now on will be referred as only ‘Lost Voices’) was, in its core, about people who suffered the loss of their loved ones and coming to terms with their losses. In short, it’s about learning to say goodbye. What’s interesting was how the anime had fancy way in telling this simple concept using high fantasy setting.

As expected, Asuna was your regular high school student with defective yet loving family. One day she ran into Shun, a strange boy from the underworld called Agartha. Shun changed Asuna’s life and later lead to her journey into the underworld. She was accompanied by Morisaki who also sought his wife in the afterlife. Lost Voices made it clear that it drew inspiration from several mythologies involving travelling to the underworld to bring back the dead.

I love the breezy pacing of Lost Voices. It provided opportunities for characters exploration through interactions between Asuna and Morisaki and lots of sight-seeing of Agartha. Credits also went to Shinkai for having this big scale anime under control. His works has always been about personal matters and this one was no exception. Despite all the spectacles, the anime stayed true to its concept of finding lost loves. Lost Voices remained a personal journey as much as an epic journey to the unknown lands.

For any fantasy story, world building is very, very important. Lost Voices did decent job in presenting us the world of Agartha. But it still fell short in several aspects. The world building was, in my opinion, the weakest part of this anime. You could blame it on my being a long time fan of fantasy anime and you would probably be right. Agartha was too generic and derivative for me that it bothered me. It kept reminding me of other anime to the point beyond simple homage. How do I explain this? It was like revisiting the world in Nausicaa or Laputa, even the technology and monsters were similar. The villages and the people, along with how they dressed and lived came straight from Tales from Earthsea. And apparently they hired makeup team who worked in Xamd’ Last Memories to do the makeup here.

I also thought that the world of Agartha could have been better portrayed in depths and details. Part of the reason of this was that the protagonists of Lost Voices didn’t really get involved with the world. They were just passing through and just heading towards their goal. Sometimes it was like tourist sight-seeing; beautiful but insubstantial. Several minor characters were not well explored. The stark example was the mute Agartha girl who was included in for no good reason and without clear context. Shin’s character was also a bit under-explored; I wanted to know more about his conflict with the people of Agartha. But the one subplot that I wanted to see more development was the relationship between Asuna and her mother; how they dealt with the lost of Asuna’s father and how Asuna had become so lonely and friendless.

I know I have spent the last two paragraphs complaining (I love complaining). But never let those discourage you from watching this anime. All the signatures of Shinkai that I have come to love are all here in this movie. The looks and the sounds were near flawless and the story was emotionally poignant. It’s just that Shinkai stepped out of his familiar territory in this movie. I admired him for doing so and would love to see him continue to challenge himself.

Rating: B

Facts

Title: Children Who Chase Lost Voices from Deep Below (aka Hoshi o Ou Kodomo)
Genre: fantasy, drama
Released date: May 7, 2011
Running Time: 116 minutes
Director: Makoto Shinkai
Animated by: CoMix Wave Films

10 responses to “The Hardest Thing is Saying Goodbye: review of Children Who Chase Lost Voices from Deep Below

  1. Despite the criticisms, I think I’d like to check this out. You make a quick comparison to Earthsea. What did you think of that film?

    • I think Earthsea was an admirable failure from an ambitious yet new director. The whole movie seemed to be trapped in the shadows of all the Ghibli classics though I could also felt the director’s struggle to be unique. One of the negative factors of that anime was the source material which was also a classic brooding fantasy novel and the fact that I am LeGuin’s fan. ^^

      • We are on the same page here! I thought the most interesting part of the film was the town of Hortown. Would have been great to set an entire film there! But an ‘admirable failure’ is a great way to sum it up.

  2. I’m having second thoughts if I’ll watch this anime or not. The 5cm per second movie was not that appealing to me.

    • If 5 cm/sec was not your cup of tea, then you can skip this one. But I still insist that you should at least watch Voices of the Distant Star. That anime was Shinkai’s signature work :)

  3. Been checking out of a lot of flims, but I am also interested in seeing this one. I am familiar with Shinkai’s past work (especially Hoshi no Koe,), so hope this one meets my expectations.

    • It might not meet your expectation after watching Hoshi no Koe. But I am sure it will at least be satisfying if you like Shinkai’s style (or Ghibli’s) ^^

  4. I recently watched this film, and after the first 15 minutes, I had to pause the video and ask myself, “Is this a Ghibli film?” I was surprised when I found out it was by the same director as Hoshi no Koe and 5cm/sec – the atmosphere was completely different from his previous works. But the scenery and the soundtrack (by Tenmon) confirmed that this was Shinkai’s work.
    I was pleased with the film, but I felt that it was rushed, and not enough things were explained. As you said for the mute child, another aspect that I felt was inadequately developed was Asuna’s radio – I had thought it was to be a major plot point, but after they enter Argatha, the radio was forgotten and not used again. All in all, I just felt like it wasn’t as richly developed as his previous works. But that is to be expected from someone testing out new territory.

    • Thank you for the comment.
      I might have thought that this was a Ghibli film as well if I hadn’t known before hand that it was Shinkai’s work. I believe that all the flaws of this movie concerning the underdeveloped characters rooted from Shinkai’s lack of experience in making epic films consisting of large number of characters. All of his previous works were about personal conflict between two people or even one regardless of the size of production.

  5. Pingback: There are lots of sceneries but only few words in ‘The Garden of Words’: anime review | Canne's anime review blog

Leave a Reply

