Whisper of the Heart: anime review




Title: Whisper of the Heart
Genre: drama, romantic, comedy
Released date: 15 July 1995
Running Time: 111 minutes
Director: Yoshifumi Kondo
Animated by: Studio Ghibli
Comment: If I had to make a list of best anime I’ve ever watched, Whisper of the Heart would at least be in the top three. The anime was produced by Studio Ghibli and was adapted from a manga of the same name (Mimi wo Sumaseba). It might look like a regular coming of age story but it was actually very special and almost flawless.

Shizuku was a common high-school girl who loved reading fantasy novels. She later met Seiji, the boy in the same school. How the two met and became intimate was something only fate could do. Seiji stayed at the violin shop and he already had plans for his future; he wanted to go to Vienna and become violin maker. Seiji’s determination inspired Shizuku to ask herself what she wanted to be in the future. As a result, she started writing her first fantasy fiction in order to learn about her ability and her desire. Shizuku learned many valuable lessons in the process. The anime was extremely optimistic about life. It filled the viewers with hope and dreams and many good lessons for both children and adults. The way Shizuku’s parents reacted to their daughters’ behavior like an adult impressed me a lot and the lesson about a gem hidden in the stone was memorable.

Many things in this anime such as violin, writing short story and cats resembled my childhood experience so it had strong nostalgic effect for me and probably made me like this anime even more. Like most of Studio Ghibli films, this anime was rich in details and deserved numerous repeat viewings. It’s amazing how such a simple story of common people could touch my heart like no anime has ever done. Conclusion: This anime is a real gem which could turn anyone’s darkest day into the brightest. My all-time personal favorite.

Rating: A+

6 responses to “Whisper of the Heart: anime review

  1. I can’t belive nobody had commented this….
    This movie is one of my fovorites, too. The productions values are superb without dim the story telling.
    The grandfather’s clock escene moved so deeply, I can’t explain why, but like the movie is just ravishing and yet warm and simple.
    I’m quite pesimist about love and artist drems in real life, but watching I can’t help but to BELIEVE.
    Oh, Ghibli can squeesh fluffy feeling from a rock

    • This post is one of my most ancient reviews and I am not exactly proud of its quality but everything I said was the truth; this is one of my favorite anime of all time :)

  2. If you guys like slice of life romance you should try Kimi ni Todoke. I have the unfortunate problem of haveing seen the best anime ever when I first started watching-Cowboy Beebop and very seldom find anything that comes even close to measuring up. This one although totally opposite is really wonderful. It perfectly took me back to high school, it is charming, funny and actually made me cry once but don’t tell anyone. It starts out slow but stay with it. I even liked the music and that is something I can say almost never happens. I even looked up the singer, he has some nice stuff. Thanks for the reviews I find them very helpful! kitkat

  3. I am a big fan of Studio Ghibli and always will be. Everyone calls me a Japan Freak (I prefer a ‘Nihon otaku’ ;D), but I have good reason for that. Moving on, I think that this, Spirited Away, Princess Mononoke, Porco Rosso, Laputa and The Castle of Cagliostro are the best (or my personal favourites). My favourite of all favourites is Nausicaa of the Valley of the Wind. It’s got everything!

    Have you heard of the anime ‘The Melancholy of Haruhi Suzumiya’? If not, it’s awesome! Weird, but awesome! It’s my favourite anime! Other than Naruto and Ouran Highschool Hostclub…

    I think I talk too much.

Leave a Reply

