Canne joins the Anime Blogger Interrogation Game

 

It felt good to be tagged by the lovely Starburst-chan. Despite my acting relatively low profile in the past month, it’s great to be regarded as part of the community. The Anime Blogger Interrogation Game was started at Nabe!! and I suspected that it would go viral around the blogsphere soon. Everyone loves jumping on the bandwagon :)

Basically, a blogger raises five questions for five other bloggers and those bloggers raise another five questions for their friends. The rules of the game are as followed (this part was modified from the original texts posted by Iso)

You are allowed to ask 5 questions, after which you can tag up to 5 bloggers by hyper-linking to their blog
Those tagged are obliged to answer the questions in a blog post, and after which, they are entitled to create their own 5 questions and tag 5 other bloggers. You are allowed to tag the person that tagged you in the first place. Also, copy and paste this section on your blog so others can understand how the game goes.
In the case where a blogger strongly refuses to answer a question, he/she must instead post a nice anime image, wallpaper or cosplay picture, et cetera in response to that question.
To make things interesting, a blogger can include wildcards in his/her 5 questions by placing an asterisk, (*), after which those tagged are obliged to reveal something interesting about themselves that others did not previously know.
Anyone can feel free to start the game; you don’t necessarily need someone to tag you. However, the catch is that you must answer your own 5 questions as well.
This round of games will end on the 8th September 2012, 12pm JST (GMT +9).

Canne answers Starburst-chan’s questions

1) How would you define your own (ani)blogging style? If any, who or what has influenced/inspired your style?

Answer: I try my best to make all my anime posts analytical and I also make sure that I insert my personal reflection to all my work. I know that readers already have good access to basic knowledge about each anime. So if I want them to spend their time reading my posts, I need to make my writing unique. If possible, I will make reference to what I know best which are movies, medical science and a bit of social science. Also, I usually try to raise some interesting message or theme from anime I review and avoid getting stuck with fixed format lest my review look too generic.

I cannot pinpoint any specific anime blogger who directly inspired me in terms of anime review. You may find it surprising but I believe that my anime reviews are heavily inspired by professional movie critics like Roger Ebert or Christy Lamire, to name a few.

2) Other than the Anime/Manga fandom, what other fandoms/interest do you have?

Answer: I am also the biggest movie fan for as long as I am an anime fan, maybe even longer. Many of my readers may have already known this because several of my posts were related to movies. Also, I read lots of sci-fi/fantasy novel as well but probably not enough to call myself a literary fan.

3) What is your taste in music?

Answer: Before any of you start thinking that I am a total nerd or pretentious (which I am), I want to say that I listen to pop music in general just like everybody else. Nevertheless, I have special preference for instrumental music which was probably rooted from my piano background. Anime/Movie original soundtracks are common in my playlist, as well as new age and electronic music.

4)*Wildcard Question! Reveal something interesting about yourselves that others did not know.

Answer: How do we define ‘others’? Does it mean anime bloggers in the blogsphere or does it include real life people as well? You know, I have many dark secrets…Anyway, I think I’ll just share something personal but not too disturbing.

My cats were named after anime cats. The first one was a stray which my parents adopted into the house. It was years ago. I named him ‘Michael’, like the cat in ‘What’s Michael?’ though he was white with brown patches, not orange tabby like the manga Michael. Unfortunately, he ran away and never came back. The second one was given to the family by a friend who already had twenty cats. This cat had the exact same look as the manga Michael! That name would have been perfect had it not already been used. So I named him ‘Moon’ like Moon (aka Muta) the cat in Studio Ghibli’s Whisper of the Heart. He is now 8 years old and loves rolling lazily on his back when someone calls his name.

5) What is a limit that you would challenge yourself to push?

Answer: I try to set my goal in realistic realm so you can say that I am not a risk taker. I usually avoid pushing myself too hard lest I become exhausted. Instead, I like to plan things ahead of time. And while I don’t do a lot of work at once, I am very persistent. I take my time but I rarely fail.

Canne’s 5 questions

Some of them are not very substantial but whatever…I figure than unconventional and fun questions are more interesting!

1) If you could work in a production of one anime series, what job would you choose to do (e.g. screenwriter, director, character design, seiyu) and why?

2) If you could possess one superpower based on basic element (Air, Fire, Water, Earth, Wood and Metal), which element would you prefer and why?

3) Which anime movie you wish you had seen in theater and why?

4) Sunny day, cloudy day and rainy day. Which one do you prefer? (And do you know which anime did this question come from?)

5) In anime, when a bunch of students gather together, they usually tell ghost stories. Now, please share with us your ghost/supernatural story (that happened to you or someone you knew)!

Here’s my answer (to my own questions)

1) If you could work in a production of one anime series, what job would you choose to do and why?

Answer: Not considering my talents, I think I want to be a music composer for anime. I assume that I would not have to carry as much responsibility as those working on other aspects of anime production while still being able to display my own creativity. Plus, I sometimes feel that an anime cannot shine without music but the music can survive without anime.

2) If you could possess one superpower based on basic element (Air, Fire, Water, Earth, Wood and Metal), which element would you prefer and why?

Answer: I’ll definitely go with water element-based powers. Not only because I am a person of water element by my date of birth but water can switch between solid and liquid form, making it a very flexible elements.

3) Which anime movie you wish you had seen in theater and why?

Answer: Predictably, I wish I could watch all Ghibli films in the cinema. But if I had to choose only one, I would choose Millennium Actress because it had both the visually stunning sequences and emotionally deep moments. The anime brought the viewers in an out of so many incredible settings spanning from the historical Japan to space age, while doing an amazing job in internal struggle of the character.

4) Sunny day, cloudy day and rainy day. Which one do you prefer? (And do you know which anime did this question come from?)

Answer: Cloudy days…(No, I am not telling you where I took this question from.)

5) In anime, when a bunch of students gather together, they usually tell ghost stories. Now, please share with us your ghost/supernatural story (that happened to you or someone you knew)!

Answer: I don’t have any sixth sense but it does not take a guy of many senses to experience some…strange events when you work in a hospital. There are just so many stories but I’ll share only one, for now.

A call from an empty room: It was years ago when a young police officer was admitted to the medical wards for unexplained fever. He was later diagnosed with AIDS. This was a VIP ward located at the 14th floor and each patient was giving his own private room. One night, without warning, he shot himself in the head. The sound of gunshot could be heard from several floors below. His death was horrifying enough but that was just the beginning of string of strange happenings that got everyone talking about to this very day. Apparently, he never left that room. Patients who were admitted to that same room afterwards reported seeing dark figure of a man standing at their feet at night. Some reported that they dreamed of a man standing in the room in the same corner where the policeman died. Even patients with depressed consciousness or brain damage often had trouble sleeping at night but since they could not talk, no one knew what was troubling them at night… The nurses working on night shift also experienced strange events. One could easily dismissed disturbing noises or finding things mysteriously misplaced. But no one could dismiss a call from an empty room. From time to time, the nurse calling button in that room was activated when there was no patient in it. Some nurses even heard voices calling for help. They all described that voice as male and in pain. Can you image how horrified the nurse would be when they rush to the room because they got a call only to find that the room was completely empty?

Five bloggers tagged by Canne

Choosing the five anime bloggers to answer my questions is a tricky business. It would be too easy and not intriguing if I fill all five slots with bloggers I already know well or already well known. So I decide to mix things up and choose a somewhat diverse group of bloggers.

The five anime bloggers I pick are… (It’s a pity Glo is now busy and Yi was already tagged.)

Chii (Oishii Anime)

Feal87 (Empty Blue)

Klux (conspicuous klux)

Kuro (Kansatsu~観察~)

John Sato

It’s been quite fun writing all this. Let the game continue…

5 responses to “Canne joins the Anime Blogger Interrogation Game

  1. Thanks for the nomination Canne. I will answer you here instead of a full post.

    1) If you could work in a production of one anime series, what job would you choose to do and why?

    I have nearly 0 talent in that area, so I could probably only do Quality Checking or similar. A software developer isn’t that useful in there…

    2) If you could possess one superpower based on basic element (Air, Fire, Water, Earth, Wood and Metal), which element would you prefer and why?

    Water, could come useful during some fire incident…:P

    3) Which anime movie you wish you had seen in theater and why?

    K-On, the Movie. It would be entertaining to see it on a proper massive screen. *_*

    4) Sunny day, cloudy day and rainy day. Which one do you prefer? (And do you know which anime did this question come from?)

    Sunny day, I love the light of the sun. It makes me relax…

    5) In anime, when a bunch of students gather together, they usually tell ghost stories. Now, please share with us your ghost/supernatural story (that happened to you or someone you knew)!

    Sorry, but never had any experience that could configure like a supernatural story really…:D

    • Thank you for your reply!
      K-ON would be a unique expereince on the big screen…I am sure that the foods and cakes would look even more yummy! ^_^

  2. Pingback: Kuro does the aniblogger interrogation game (very late)! | Kansatsu~観察~

  3. I used to like mainstream pop music as well, but recently, I kinda got tired of them (though I still like to hear some old ones) . Right now, I’m prioritizing more on anime and game OSTs, and a biiiiit of Touhou.

    Your first question is interesting. For me, I think I would prefer to be a screenwriter. I like to shape my own stories, though if I have the drawing skill, I might prefer to be a character designer instead.

Leave a Reply

